Return to Headlines

Four from region named to WSSDA's 2019 "Board of Distinction" list

School boards from four south central Washington school districts are among the 33 statewide that have been recognized with a 2019 Board of Distinction award from the Washington State School Directors’ Association.  The WSSDA announced its annual group of honorees on Oct. 31.

The Thorp and Mabton school boards were among three in the state (joining Crescent) to receive the one of the 2019 awards for school districts with enrollments of 1,000 or fewer students. 

Wapato and West Valley were among the 18 school boards from medium-sized school districts of 1,001 to 9,000 students that also received the recognition, with Wapato earning it for the fourth consecutive year.  

One school board in each size category will receive further recognition as a Board of the Year during the WSSDA’s annual conference of Nov. 21-24 in Bellevue. 

WSSDA’s Boards of Distinction program is designed to encourage school boards to examine their practices as governing bodies and correlate how their actions and decisions positively impact the success of their students.  Those recognized as a Board of Distinction have reviewed their decision-making and shown how their efforts have resulted in positive student outcomes.  School boards selected for the award must also demonstrate a clear link between their leadership and the results in closing opportunity gaps that impact student success.

The Board of Distinction selections were determined by a panel of 10 judges from across the state comprised of former and current Educational Service District superintendents, members of the State Board of Education, former school board members, and others involved in statewide educational leadership positions.