Return to Headlines

Wapato School Board named a 2020 Board of the Year!

Wapato Public Schools logo The Wapato School Board has been selected as Washington's 2020 Board of the Year among medium-size school districts in the state. The Washington State School Directors' Association announced its pick for this year on November 19, also honoring the school boards of Federal Way among large school districts and Oakville among small school districts.

Wapato's board was recognized in part for its expansion of relationships with the Yakama Nation to help close student achievement gaps, and for sponsoring a partnership for students with the University of Oregon's Teacher Preparation Program.

Current members of the Wapato School Board are Javier Vela, Sarah Divina, Maria Erickson, Lorenzo Alvarado, and John Francisco.

Click here to see the full announcement about Wapato's award from the WSSDA's website, which includes a 75-second video message from the Wapato Board's president, Maria Erickson.